Thulasiraj Ravilla

Executive Director- LAICO & Director Operations
Aravind Eye Care System

Thulasiraj has been part of the senior leadership team of Aravind Eye Care System since 1981 and was instrumental in establishing Aravind’s systems and processes. Now he heads Lions Aravind Institute of Community Ophthalmology. In line with organization’s mission to eliminate needless blindness, along with his team, LAICO has mentored over 320 eye hospitals across the globe, often resulting in doubling of their output following the engagement.   
He has been an Advisor to India’s National Programme for the Control of Blindness and WHO; served as the Southeast Asia Chair of International Agency for the Prevention of Blindness and was the founder President of Vision 2020 India. He has authored or co-authored over 100 peer reviewed publications and contributed to book chapters.
Thulasiraj was named as a Social Entrepreneur in 2005 by the Schwab Foundation; adjudged the “Hospital Administrator of the Year in 2008” in India by Modern Medicare and GE Health; speaker at the TED Conference, India in 2009; listed among the 30 Most Influential People in Public Health globally by a portal on Masters in Public Health Management; in 2014, honoured as the “Most inspiring Healthcare Leader of the year” by Times of India.

Organization Description

Aravind Eye Hospital located in South India, is a large provider of eye care, known for its high volume, affordable and quality eye care services. Aravind annually handles over 3.5 million outpatient visits and performs over 400,000 surgeries or laser procedures with over 50% of them free or steeply subsidized. In addition to patient care, Aravind has substantial training initiatives, a manufacturing unit (Aurolab), research and a consulting arm (LAICO) to propagate best practices. The innovations in the use of IT, affordable product development and other initiatives led Aravind to appear in Fast Co.’s list of the 50 most innovative companies in the world. Aravind Eye Care System was awarded the Gates Award for Global Health, the Champalimaud Award, and more recently the Conrad Hilton Humanitarian award.